There are different opinions on whether it is better for workers and laborers to do a single task during the day or they should be assorted and be able to do various duties. Though some people think that doing a sole task, or the other word being mono-task, helps workers to concentrate better and be more useful for the company, I believe otherwise, maintaining that it is necessary for workers to be multi-functional for the sake of their own satisfaction and company prosperity. In what follows, I will delve into the most persuasive reasons to substantiate my perspective.

Without a doubt, the most consequential reason corroborating my stance on this subject is versatility makes laborers perform better and more efficiently. Humans are not a machine; they need diversity during their days in both their lives and jobs. They need to switch between different tasks to help their brain rest and give it time to analyze the previous duty. Drawing from my own experience, when I study for an exam every two hours, I stop studying for my exam, consider it, for example, chemistry, and switch to another book, for instance, mathematics. Thereby, I give my brain some time to analyze and assort the brand-new information I have learned from chemistry. Therefore, this reason clearly manifests that versatility helps workers perform better, and as a result, their self-satisfaction will increase.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some points here is that by doing different tasks, laborers become more experts in various fields. Take a power plant company as an example. A power plant company, just like other companies, has a team of technicians as well as a team of engineers. If an engineer of this company becomes familiar with working with machinery, in case of failure, he does not have to rely on a technician and can fix the fault by himself. Hence, he sees himself as more than a primary engineer since he can do theoretical calculations as well as practical tasks. Thus, this point illustrates the fact that being able to do various duties improves workers' satisfaction and skill.

All in all, many people are in favor of mono-task workers because they think in this way, workers can better focus on their given tasks. Nevertheless, the foregoing reasons lead us to conclude that multi-functionality is necessary and beneficial for both companies and workers; this is because in this way, laborers perform more efficiently and they improve their skills.