Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Young people today are less dependent on their parents than young people in the past

All the families try to nurture their children in a way that they become independent when they are around eighteen years old and this approach has been prevalent in all human history. This trend prompts a controversial issue whether nowadays young people are more independent or dependency rate in the past was more. I adamantly subscribe to the idea that these day young people are more dependent than past

First and foremost, the young people are more relying on their parents in order to obtain consultant in different facets of life. In this world, the probability of getting into the emotional trouble is a lot and if something happened in their life, the role of family is indispensable. Take my personal experience as an example, My wife left me 2 years ago without any explanation. One day she got home and said that I don’t want to live with you anymore because I am in love with someone else. After separation, I was in the brink of being insane. I was in an unavoidable situation and my mind did not work properly to find a solution for the darkness I was living in. I will not forget my parents' patronage since they forced me to participate in therapy and I had stayed in their home for a year. Comparing to the past, however, these emotional troubles were less because people tended to dedicate their lives to their husband and wife.

More importantly, young people cannot prosper in this era without the financial support of their parents. First of all, since the majority of jobs are available for those having university degrees, the students are obliged to continue their education in order to reach upper levels of education and strengths their resume for after graduation. Admittedly, they need to pay the tuition of the university and without help of their families, it is not accessible. After graduation, there is a lag between entering into a job and graduation. Accordingly, they need the patronage of their families too. In the next stage of their lives, they are going to marry someone. Renting or buying a house is completely hard, no matter how much a person can save in 10 years. In my country, as an example, an average young person should save his income for 30 years to afford him to buy a house. paying for holding a marriage ceremony is another story that without the assistance of families is not possible. It should be stressed that people were under less economic pressure in the past and they can easily afford many expenses alone. Accordingly, it is crystal clear that we cannot consider young people as a self-governing person anymore since they rely on their families financially.

In a nutshell, I firmly believe that family supports their young sons or daughters more than decades ago.