Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Young people are the most energetic and active population of a nation that can bring about significant changes in the country. Although many believe that the young cannot make great impacts due to their immaturity, I am of the opinion that youngsters play a significant part in the future of society.

First of all, political elections are undoubtedly crucial for future of a country and the young can profoundly effect future events of their nation through contributing to the election affairs. Although the elderly might make decisions wisely, they have not propensity to change the future by taking part in elections because they prefer to live the last part of their lives in peace rather than engaging with the political issues. Therefore, the vast majority of people who participate in elections are the young. A recent survey conducted in University of Tehran's faculty of political science revealed that over 90 percent of the participants in presidential election are youngsters; this fact evidences the pivotal role of youth in electing a competent politician.

Furthermore, sometimes government enact legislations and implement policies that pose threat to the community, and just young population are brave enough to oppose those harmful policies. This courage stems from the feeling of affection to the nation that exists in every young person. For instance, a few years ago, government planned to build a dam in a rural area in order to accumulate water for supplying water in dry seasons. However, this dam would force the inhabitants of that rural area to abandon their houses because the accumulated water was supposed to submerge all of the adjacent villages. Fortunately, the young people of that region held a rally and protested against this policy to prevent its disastrous effects. Government complied with the demand of protesters and refused to construct the dam. This example clearly demonstrates how the brave youngsters are able to make a great impact on the future of community.

It is fair to conclude that youth are capable of making significant changes in the society because of their tendency for making future and their bravery.