do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A student must like a teacher in order to learn from the teacher.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There are several factors that can influence the process of learning. Some people may mention the emotional bond between students and teachers as a necessary factor. However, I disagree with this idea and I do not think that a student must like a teacher to learn from her/him.

The main role of a teacher is to be a reliable guide, introducing new concepts or subjects to the students while suggesting useful resources. Therefore, students are themselves responsible for studying the resources and grasping the main concepts during the learning process. Although a positive friendly relationship between the teacher and students may accelerate building the mentioned trustful relationship between them, the lack of it will not jeopardize the learning process.

Moreover, the most sustainable and effective way of learning is the self-motivated one. Those students who have an internal incentive to learn are more successful than their peers who are dependent to external motivations, such as liking their teachers. Some brilliant examples of self-motivated students are prodigies like Einstein, Bell, and Edison who were not favorable students of their teachers but became great scientists by self-learning.

Furthermore, it has been proved that the students' view toward a subject matter is the most important and effective factor that enhances the mental process of learning. No doubt that when a learner has enthusiasm to learn a subject, she/he will put energy and time to digest it, finding examples, and understanding the subject in its all aspects. Thus, the friendly relationship with a teacher seems not to be of such crucial effect.

In conclusion, for students, teachers have the influential role of a guide through the unexplored world of knowledge. However, in order to learn a subject matter a student must be self-motivated and enthusiast to explore and understand it. Hence, I believe that liking the teacher is not a must for learning successfully.