Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than

excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debate about if teacher with better relationship with their students or better knwoledge is a better educator. Without a question, many would think that a teacher with great knowledge would provide the best classes; other may consider the opposite point of view. As far as I am concerned, I strongly believe that a teacher with a great relationship with their students can teach more effectibly than onother with better knowledge, but a bad personal connection with their students. I feel this way mainly for two reasons I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, a teacher who has a good relationship with their student usually find a better reception of the information the teacher is bringing to the class; ergo, the students learns better. Moreover, the students' predisposition, towards a person that they respect and like, creates a positive environment for learning. My own personal experience is a compelling example of this point. When I was a elementary student, I used to be very shy and approaching to a teacher to ask something was not in my list. As a result, I struggled with my grades till I we had a new teacher whose personality allowed all the student to feel comfortable and open in class. Therefore, I could ask her all the questions I needed to understand any subject or topic she was teaching; and in consequence, my grades improved considerably.

Secondly, a teacher with excellent knowledge is no necessarily a synonym of an excellent educator. Moreover, the teacher's communication and social skills usually are the key for achieving an excellent teaching. To illustrate this point let's consider the following example. My daughter is an excellent student, but as her mother she also is very shy and she always struggle to approach to her teacher in case she needs some help from them. Instead, she creates an interesting group of study with her peers at class. Therefore, between peers and friend she can ask and learn what she missed in class. In other words, none of her friends or peer would have deeper knowledge than the teachers, however the great personal connection between them provide the right communication and respect for a good learning.

In conclusion, I deeply agree with the statement provides by the thesis: the relationship teacher-student is more important than the teacher's knowledge for being a better educator. This is because a good relationship would provide a better reception for the student to learn, and also because the teacher would achieve a better communication and interaction with the students in a more effectively way.