Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After high school, students should have at least one

year to work or travel. It's better than attending

university straight away.

without any shadow of doubt, education plays a prominent role in every individual’s life. Although some people might adhere to the idea that students should go to university right after high school, others possess the conviction that spending at least one year in travel or having a job before joining to university. As far as I am concerned, allocating a year to have a gap between high school and the university is a good call for students. I will elaborate on my reasons through the following paragraphs.

To start with, one should take into account that people who graduate from high school are just some teenagers without any real-life experiments. they just have been in school, among their peers, and surrounded by their own comfort zone. The students need to come out of their shells, and be more engaged with others. For instance, not only going on travel makes young people more independent, but also leads them to deal with different cultures and people. this will help them to be more confident, and their personality boom in an effective way. A relevant study in Germany asserts that university students who had chosen to have a gap year before going to university, were about 32% more socially active. As a result, they had functional relationships helping them go through their studies. this result shows how important it is to get a year off education.

The second reason I would like to mention is that the students will face the chance to find the fields they are interested in, and pick up the major with wisdom before entering the university. this will save their time and money by preventing them to change their fields consequently. take a personal experience as an example: back to the time I was going to university, I could not decide which field I really want to work on in the future. my father suggested that I take a year off and try to find a job, so I thought it is not the worst idea. I found occupation as a tour guide in the local museum. At the end of the year, I was so fascinated about the job that I decided to pick a major in tourism. Now, I am a happy tour guide and travel agent, all thanks to my fother’s advice.

To take everything into account, I am of the view that students should go on travel or have a job before they attend to university, because it will help them to improve their social skills and they will get the opportunity to realize what field of study they are going to choose in the university. The more they get experienced in their lives, the better their judgments improves.