Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take basic science courses even if it is not the field of their study.

The topic about all college students should be required to take basic science subject even it is not their major is debatable. In my opinion, I refutes that basic science courses have to be mandatory to all of the university students. I hold this opinion for three reasons.

First of all, some of the students do not have interest at all in science when they decided to choose non-science major. Because of that, they will become lazy to study it and eventually they may get bad score. Somehow these bad score will affect their transcript which will be needed to apply job. Many jobs require good transcript so it will be a bad thing for the students if they get bad score.

Second, all of university students has already faced basic science in their previous education. In many countries, elementary and high school students must learn science and mathematics so I think it will be enough for them. I think the students have already know how to calculate numbers. Moreover, I think it will wasting the time if they should repeated the same materials that they already learned in schools.

Third, it will not help the students for their next career. For instance, a lawyer does not have to know how to solve some algebra equation to solve a court case. Still, a law student has to learn many law courses such as public or private case in their college and there will be no enough time to study basic science.

In conclusion, I do not think that required basic science courses is suitable for the students. There will be disadavantage if it happened.