Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It has been widely discussed whether students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Some people suppose that students ought to be forced to take history classes because history is the root of a nation, while the objectors state that it is a waste of time. As for me, I strongly agree that students should be required to take history courses.

First of all, taking a history course helps the student establish a clear perception of the outside world serves as the primary catalyst to my solid standing. Learning history course enables students to acquire the historical events, which decreases the possibility for students to make the same mistakes as the ancients. With the knowledge obtained from the history course can students build a correct outlook of the world, in which indicated that students can distinguish what is right as well as what is wrong. Likewise, acquiring the history of the world allows students to understand the development of science, which averts them from being superstitious. Based on a statistic which displays that more than eighty-one percent of the universities in the world take history as a requirement reinforces the reliability of my positions.

Furthermore, part of my position stems from averting various misunderstanding. A host of misunderstandings arise from people\'s ignorance of history since history courses have already indicated the reasons why different places have different conventions. With the knowledge acquired from history courses can people understand and respect the diverse conventions and avert being embarrassed by cultural shock. Learning history courses render students cognizant of cultural differences because they have already learned about the various taboos of a host of cultures from history courses. In addition, students who take history courses are more likely to take effective measures in order to deal with sudden conflicts while meeting cultural shock than other students who did not learn history knowledge. Recently, a longitudinal study which found that nearly seventy-nine percent of students who acquire history knowledge perform calmer when they meet cultural shock, which lends scientific evidence to my position.

In conclusion, it is a must for students to take history courses as a requirement. Because students are allowed to build their own perception of the outside world, which prevents them from being superstitious. Additionally, students are able to understand various conventions from different places, which avoid them from meeting cultural shock. All in all, taking history courses as a requirement of students has a multiple of benefits in students. I suggest that all of the universities should require students to take history courses for their own benefits.