Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children (five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The quality of education plays a vital role in the development of nations. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that the government should spend more money on childhood education than on universities. I feel this way for many potential reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, understanding basic concepts of math and science in the early grades allow children to do better in the later grades. On the other hand, if the child did not get enough training on the essential ideas in each field, they would definitely suffer during the next stages of studying. Furthermore, most realms of knowledge are accumulative in nature. This means doing well on the introductory classes ensures full comprehension of the more advanced ones. My own experience is a compelling example on what I mean. My family hired a private math tutor to help me hone my calculation skills even before I was enrolled in an official school. Whenever I look back, I come to realize more and more how valuable this decision was and how much positive impact it had on my learning future. Having a leg up, I was able to achieve higher grades which further encouraged me to study more and pay attention in classes as it was easier for me to understand. Thus, if the government allocate a larger proportion of the budget to childhood education, this will guarantee a highly competitive and motivated generation of kids.

Secondly, grown-ups are more aware of their decisions and they usually choose a university according to their interest and abilities. Hence, they have incentives to pay some extra money to attend the institution that intrigues them. Besides, most people join university to get credentials to prepare them to practice in a specific career. As a result it's fair that they get charged more as they would be compensated after getting their dream job. Therefore, any government subsidies for higher education would be a waste of money. For instance, in my home country, the government spends huge sums of money on colleges and universities to make it free for everyone. Nevertheless, there is no economic return for the the country as most graduates do not find jobs in the field that they spent years to study. Had the government provided these funds for childhood education which is totally broken, our community would have gotten well-informed adults who would be capable of making better decisions.

In conclusion, I oppose the proposal that the government should offer more support to higher education than to early childhood tutoring. This is mainly due to the fact that youngsters need more attention and care to be prepared for their learning future. On the contrary, adults are fully concious of their choices.