Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should focus their budget more on environmental protection than on economic development.

Undoubtedly, environmental protection concern has been a real challenge to the contemporary human. Because what we call modern life is apodictically based on civilization and technological advances and those, in turn, are dependent on economic prosperity and development of countries. This modern contradiction further expanded into an eternal disputation among both laity and subject matter experts: what should a government do about the environment and whether politicians should spend money on preserving the flora and fauna of their country or should they concentrate on net economic growth through developing industries which, most of the time, pollute the atmosphere, land, and water. From my perspective, since technological advancements are an inalienable (undeniable) part of our living and culture, we should not reduce funds on economy. However, since the conservation of planet earth, our only hospitable habitat, is an unquestionable duty, we should protect the earth spirit, the Gaya. In what follows, I will try to adduce my reasons elucidating my stance.

First of all, we should look upon this controversial issue realistically; can we live without our modern gadgets and tools? Absolutely NO. Thus, we need to invest money on economic and specifically on infrastructures which in turn need scores of factories and enterprises to operate at full power. Moreover, as the population increases and the technology advances, our necessities abounds to extreme points; we feel new needs every day. Thus, the problem is not that should we, rather, could we check our wants?

In addition, as a maxim says: “we inherited the earth from our fathers and it is our responsibility to pass this inheritance to our children, without any deficiency or harm.” If we do not take care of our large blue habitat, our offspring should try to understand and feel our magnificent planet through books, photographs, and movies. And by doing that they certainly, miss the euphonious sound of lovebirds, the scenery of meadows, the pulchritude of peacocks, and astonishing blue of the sky. It is high time we eschewed devastating lands, polluting the water, and obfuscating the sky because we have learned enough in the last decades.

In closing the discussion of this matter, I would be remiss in exhausting the subject if I neglected the fact that a balanced policy toward the economics and environment is certainly desirable and efficacious. Human beings should concentrate on developing economic economy with an eye on protection of their environment. They may invest more on the economy with the aim of funding the outcome on environment; what some countries such as the USA have done with flying colors in the last three decades.