Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news sources

Nowadays we live in the information age. Technology has revolutionized every aspect of human’s life including the way of gaining information. There are more sources now to be informed about current affairs. Therefore there is an ongoing debate that it’s better to get most information from diverse news supplies to be well-informed. I support this idea and I well elaborate this more in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, using just one source to get information may provide us data which is not reliable. Some kind of newspaper or news program on TV are biased and give partial information therefore if we want to have a better understanding of issues which are happening around us we’d better check other sources as well. For example, some news sources are in favor of a special political party so when comes to election they may give us prejudiced data in order to deceive people and make a better impression of their favorite candidate. There is a common expression that says the listener should be wise which means we shouldn’t believe everything we hear but we should challenge it and make sure that the information is correct.

Secondly, different sources may see the same issue from different points of view so obtaining data from various resources gives us a comprehensive understanding of the topic. Each reporter may look at the subject from special angle. So if we stick to one source we cannot be sure that we know everything about it. For example about long cancer as a common health issue some sources may say that it’s just because the air pollution so people who live in a place with a cleaner air are not endanger but other sources may provide information that it’s also the matter of genetic and genetic plays an important role as well as environment. So relying on just one source may provide us incomplete information of a topic.

In conclusion, I would say that we should take advantage of this great opportunity that technology has brought us and use different sources of news both to have a comprehensive knowledge of what happens around the world and to avoid being fooled by some sources and get the most correct information about various topics.