Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Truth be told, whether children should learn to manage their own money or not has generated a lot of controversy lately. In my view, teaching children financial principles is of utmost priority. In the following paragraphs, I will point out the importance of this matter.

First of all, humans are the most suceptible to learning in childhood. For this reason, it is the best time to learn many financial principles. There are many ways with which managing money can be taught to children. For instance, parents can devote a specific time to conveying their financial experiences to their own children. Furthermore, television and the Internet play a key-role in teaching to children, providing that most of the children spend a significant amount of time either watching television or using the Internet.

Moreover, researches have shown that habits that are generated in childhood, often remain for a lifetime. Therefore, if a child makes a habit of managing her own money, chances are that she will continue managing her money for the rest of her life. My father illustrates this definition. When he was a child, he used to work in his father's shop, and his father paid him a little amount of money with which he always bought toys for himself. Since the money was little, he had to save it in order to be able to buy things for himself. Because of that, he is a professional in saving money.

Finally, not to mention the effect of children on each other would be an oversight. Children have the most significant effect on each other with regard to learning. Thus, if we start teaching our children how to manage their money, eventually this knowledge will propagate through a great number of them, and therefore, they grow up to form a society with excellent financial knowledge. This society can reach its goals and succeed in the competition.

All in all, it is important for children to learn how to manage their money, because they are in their most susceptible state to learning, their habits stay with them for a long time, and they learn from each other easily.