Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

The life styles of people have been changed dramatically during the past few decades with the different phases of revolutions in terms of education, technology and development of the entire world. In the fast moving world, decision making is of paramount importance to survive successfully. Some people believe that in the past, young people depended too much on their parents while today they are better decision makers and others believe that young people are still poor decision makers. In my opinion young people have improved their skills related to decision making with the increased access to information, different opportunities they get to exercise their own decisions and the change of their mindset to be independent in choosing the options available.

To begin with, it is important to identify the access to information had made the lives of modern-day young people different from early days. That has brought people a better understanding about what is happening around them to make better decisions with a complete analysis based on the parameters identified through online research. For an example, the leading roles of many business organizations are the young people, they make radical decisions with a proper understanding on the market factors with the business management skills that they equipped with a systematic education and self-learning platforms. Additionally, education has marked a hurdle in the access to information via the technological improvements along with it.

Secondly, young people have gone through a wide range of experiences making them confident to think on their own. From the day they were born, they are moving close to the world more than their parents at their young age. During our grand parent’s regime, children were at home just playing with their siblings and running all around the village with no idea at all. However now the child has been used to adapt to different circumstances such as being at home alone, doing their own tasks on their own from their early age. Moreover, this has provided them with different opportunities to learn through mistakes from their childhood to be great decision makers when they are matured.

Furthermore, the change of the social life of people has played a major role in making young people independent. Back then, people were connected to their families with very powerful family bonds where they had more obedience towards parents more than showing their respect with the conventional mindset people had. Whereas this situation is quite different now with the young people being away from home from their teenager age either for education or to start professional lifestyles, making them closer to their friends more than parents. This has provided them the opportunity to think individually and prove others that they can make their lives successful with the proper decision making process.

In conclusion, the changes in the social structure, development of technology and specially the mind set of people to take challenges and to learn from them have made young people more intelligent in terms of arriving to best decisions than the ancient days where young people had to live with the orthodox mindset.