Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today's world." Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

Today technology plays a major role in the lives of the people in different arenas extending from daily activities to even the political and economic ecosystem of any nation. With this, the internet has been identified as a source of mediator which is used in almost everything. Some people think the use of online resources to assist us has brought a positive impact while others challenges that argument heavily. In my opinion, the positive impact it has created has won over the problems or the disturbances it has created.

Firstly, internet has gifted us with a communication network where we can connect with every nook and corner of the world with a mere second delay. It has interconnected people who are living in different geographical locations to keep in touch with one another. For example, with the use of Whatsapp, Gamil and Facebook, we can share our happiness and sorrow with our closest friends or relatives who are living abroad. If not for the internet, people will have to take direct phone calls which costs higher and creates barriers for day today calling. Moreover, internet creates a network relatively less expensive which is used by many all around the world.

Secondly, online platforms provide us with the access to knowledge hubs. There are a large number of websites which support the free access to information which is important to uplift the education system of a country. When we are doing academic research, it is important to identify the current trends, related work and the possible extensions of projects. This required extensive reading of research papers in various journals such as IEEE. This has been only possible with the internet connection that we have. If not, different labs will be doing the same research reinventing the wheel wasting the valuable time of a researcher. Furthermore, the online access to information has arose interest of people to learn more and hunt for knowledge to keep in touch with up to date research.

Additionally, the daily activities have become convenient and effective with the widespread of internet services specially in buying and selling, banking. This has brought all the services right to the door step. We are given the opportunity to order what we want may be grocery items to even business sales of million dollars with just one click. Thus, it has made the entire business process more effective and even profitable to all of us.

In conclusion, internet has created a global network supporting to develop close relationships, acquire knowledge and to make their day today work convenient. This has showed that the positive effect it has created has been of paramount importance to the entire mankind.