Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make

decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Due to the increase in civilization, the modern world is a place of making an individual decision. There is numerous difference between the young people of the past and present era. However, a plethora of people contents that young people did not depend on their parents in the past but others disagree with the statement. Not surprisingly, the number of controversies over this issue is overwhelmed. Among this controversy, I personally believe that young people are more independent in the present days than in the past. I feel this way for several reasons I will expound in the subsequent followings.

To commence with, in the modern era young people can make their own's decision even a five years old kid has a choice. This is because of the rapid growth of education. Young people are now more realistic and understanding but in the past, they depend on parents because of lack of knowledge. They through that parents know better and try to obey every decision. But, today's generation is more advanced and they make their own decision. Besides, parents also respect children's decision and trust them. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Before admitting to a university, I was interested in engineering but my father chose a simple subject for my better future. But, I realized to him that I was good at math and science, so I could handle this field. He perceived my point and appreciated my decision.

The exquisite point is that today's society is free from superstitions but in the past, it was one of the cause for holding young people. Now, the world is more technologically advanced because of internet, telephone, social media etc. Young people can get information from those sources and can perceive profound knowledge which makes them more understandable. On the other hand, the only source of knowledge of young people in the past was parents, relatives or neighbour. Thus, they needed parents to make a decision. For instance, I heard from my grandmother that when she was young she chose a Muslim boy for marrying, but that time society was so conservative that their parents forced to break the relation and told that getting married with another religion is a curse of God.

To recapitulate, young children are now more independent because of the change of social norm, education and the growth of technology. Besides, parents support and trusting also changes the situation.