Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

It goes without saying that in this sophisticated world where the technology growing so fast that it could hardly be believed, parents have played a prominent role in all societies. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that today parents have less influence on their children than in the past while others look at this issue through a different lens. From my vantage point, today young people tend to make their own decisions by themselves instead of depending on their parents' viewpoint. In the following paragraphs, I will illustrate the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, the technology growing so fast. Statistics show that in evert five years the amount of information would be doubled. By emerge of Internet, children have access to the ocean of source information which provides the most reliable and newest information for making their decisions. They have the opportunity to gain information from others' experience too. Moreover, they can interact with a vast variety of people all around the world in order to find out their required information from experts. In contrast, children did not access to such a huge information sources and parents were the only responsible person to solve their children problems. For example, when my father tells story about his childhood, it seems he always trusted on his family’s information for making decisions such as finding job, continuing his education and getting married.

Another subtle point that should be mentioned is that nowadays specialization penetrate through all aspect of daily life. Take finding job as an example, in the past, children continued their father's job without any hesitation. However, in such a complex world, there are many new job opportunities for children. Besides, the world observes a vast change in term of education system. Today, children should be well educated to be successful in their future life. By arrival of many new field study, parents are not able to help their children on deciding study field. To illustrate, I studied communications system as my major around four years ago. When I was deciding to choose my major, I asked my father to help me. But he was not familiar with the new arrival fields of study which forced me to find a better way to find the answer of my questions. Hence, I tried to contact many professors at our nearby universities and also talked to many experts about my interest job. After all, I chose my major by considering these gathered information.

In conclusion, parents always have influenced in their children, although nowadays their effects are less than in the past. this is my deep belief that growing technology and specialization in today's life lead parents to be less effective than before. It should be kept in mind that parents are the first teacher for children and children should never neglect their influence on their life.