Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that parents play a key roll in their children life. Some people believe that parents chose their children life and now they can't. Conversely, other people think that in the past, young people were more independence than now. From my vantage point, the first belief is better. In what follows, I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to my mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with the issue that in the past, young people should work with their father and couldn't choose their own work. They should follow their father's rules and couldn't make a decision. So they couldn't learn independence and their living depended on their parents choice completely. However, now, young man choose their work and don't pay attention to their parents, because they think that their parents don't know any things about technology.

Another equally significant point in supporting my view is that in the past, a young man didn't have any authority to choose their wife and parents find a girl for their boy. In contrast, now, young man make a relationship with a girl that they want, and if the girl will be suitable, they marry with her. And in this process, parents don't play any role. For instance, when my father was 25, my grandfather found my mom for him and my father didn't play a roll in his marriage.

To put it briefly, If one weighs the merits and demerits of aforementioned statement, one soon realized that young man is more independent than past. But that was just a story in a nutshell. In fact, there are myriads of other reasons, supporting my opinoin, which could be mentioned but are not embraced due to the dearth of time.