Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this competitive world, decision making plays a vital role in people's lives. But, do young people of current generation really depend too much on their parents to make decisions?. Personally, I do agree with the statement that in the past, young people depended much on their parents to take decisions than the young people of today. I feel this waty for two main reasons, which I will explore in following essay.

First of all, there is vast difference in the growing up of current generation and past generation. The living environment, culture, food habits, education etc were far more different during past days. My own experience is compelling example for this. When my grand father was to take decision of his further studies, he was too hesitant to ask his parents about this decision, because he was afraid they might deny his proposal of further studies due to a number of factors like financial factors, transportation, image in the society etc. However, in the current senario, situations changed drastically, young generations start to live away from their families in very young age. They feel that do not need help from their parents not only in terms of decision but also in various other aspects of life.

Secondly, today is the world of technology and myriad of technological advancements impacted the humans greatly. The generation of internet provides treasure of information in just a click of fingertip. For instance, now-a-days variety of applications are available of mobile phones, laptops, ipads. These applications helps in making our lives easy, provide assistance in lot of work weather they are tough or easy. Also, the movies affected a lot in todays generation, movies show stories of young people, who always disobey their parents and disrespect them. People learn from these kinds of movies and apply the same in their own life. Therefore, they started decreasing the value of their parents in the life.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that in the past, young people depended much on their parents to take decisions than the young people of today. This is because there is vast difference in the growing up of current generation and past generation, and technological advancements have reduced the value of parents decision making powers.