Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Nowadays, people want to decide themselves for their lives such as type of their clothes, their favorite spouse, their life style, and so forth. Young people are majority of these kinds of persons. They want to decide independently about their life manner. While someone declares that were more independent in the past than they are today, I believe it is reverse. It goes without saying that young people living today are less dependent than ones lived in the past. In what follows, I will substantiate my perspective.

Firstly, young persons have more independence in choosing husband or wife than past. For instance, my brother got married thirty years ago. My father chose a girl from his uncle's family as a wife for my brother. On the other hand, my brother did not agree with him. But, he had to accept his father's decision, and finally, he got married with that girl. After that, a boy was their marriage result. Now, his boy two months ago got married with a girl from his university. My brother did not choose that girl, and my brother's boy and his classmate in the university had chosen each other for their future life. Thus, even though my brother was dependent in his marriage decision to his family, now, his boy is independent than his parents about his future life.

Secondly, in the past, young people had financial dependence to their parents while teenagers are self-sufficient now. For instance, my father always had taken money from his parents to start a new job. If he did not take any money from his parents, he could not start his favorite car. But, now, I have started a startup without any help from others. I got my prime investment from teaching in the private classes for students not working hard in the class. Therefore, children are more self-sufficient now than teenagers were in the past.

To conclude, while young persons are independent person to choose spouse now, they were completely dependent to their parents in choosing husband or wife. Moreover, young people are self-sufficient todays than ones were in the past.