Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects to to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today's world is more developed in technology and people required deep and broad knowledge. Knowledge pursues a person a better career in the future. However, some people think that for better knowledge people should specialize in a specific field and others think that people need a broad knowledge of the various field. Not surprisingly, the number of controversies over this issue is overwhelming. Among this controversy, I prefer the first one. I will provide several elaborations for holding this aspect.

First and foremost, deep and particular knowledge is essential to get a better job. By focusing on a single field people can concentrate enough to achieve a better skill on a specific subject. If people observe different scholar in the world it is hard to find that a single scholar holding all knowledge on the various subject except one or two. There is a limitation on human beings. For instance, one of my friend who is very interested in the field of computer science when he was a sophomore in college. So, he broadens his knowledge on a various computer program like Java, HTML, object-oriented program and also in the database. As a result, before graduation, he was adept in those specific subject. Moreover, his academic result is not good like me but still, he is more skilful than me because for specific concentration on a field.

Furthermore, when student studying in the various subject they often distract from the basic knowledge on those subject. Sometimes it is difficult for them to make connections with those subject because of the broad explanation of the various field. For particular, when I was an undergraduate student I often confused with this broad knowledge and sometimes it was difficult for me to find why did I need to study this course, why did this course add in my field etc. As an engineering student, I always thought that Why I need to study accounting, sociology, management. Moreover, after passing those course I never remember those subject and not able to explain any of the topics. Personally I believe that it is a total waste of time and money. Hence, I think for achieve a relevant knowledge student should stay

concentrate on a specific field.

To recapitulate, broad knowledge is necessary because today's world is more diverse and adapt to the new generation broad mindset is essential. But, it is impossible for people to achieve broad knowledge of the different field and I realized that people should only focus on a particular field for prosperous future.