Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

There have appeared endless discussions over news intake. Sociologists argue that knowledge about events happening around the world is important despite the unlikelihood of them affecting daily life. Personally, I approve of this argument.

On one hand, what takes my priority is personal enjoyment. It is well noted that everyone follows the news, meaning that everyone is very aware of global events. Therefore, following events around the world creates a common subject between people. For that reason, it is much easier for people to find a common ground to communicate, increasing the amount of time talking together. It follows that this allows people to have more communication, and that they can chat more with others. People are bound to enjoy chatting, thus be filled with joy and happiness. More interestingly, the fact is that there is likelihood that learning about global events can be very valuable. Similar to learning history, which certainly teaches people many lessons, global news are also educational. An insightful person is surely able to draw important lessons from following global events. Subsequently, people enhance their knowledge, and this has a tendency to bring a sense of pride to people. On that ground, following worldwide events brings joy to people. Indeed, knowing events happening around the world ameliorates people’s happiness.

On the other hand, some people might say that knowing about world events is a complete waste of time and energy, since this sort of knowledge is beneficial only to important global-scale decision. As a consequence, learning worldwide events prevents people from personal enjoyment. However, this is not necessarily the case. In fact, there are many scenarios where knowledge of events around the world can help ordinary people. For instance, it may affect people’s decision to travel to another country for vacation or studies. Furthermore, it is common knowledge that global events have a high probability to seem interesting to normal human beings. Political stories around the world are an example, as they are very entertaining. New policies in another country are likely to incite curiosity and speculation from news followers. Hence, knowing about events happening around the world has a high possibility of being enjoyable. Accordingly, people stand a golden chance of enjoy themselves when learning about worldwide events. By and large, the claim that people are no longer happy when learning global events is intrinsically false.

In summary, topics for communication, drawn lessons and interests with global events are convincing reasons for my approval. It is highly recommended that sociologists should take my writing into detailed consideration to make an appropriate decision on news intake.