Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

It is generally accepted that it is unnecessary for an ordinary citizen to care about the events that have no relationship with his own life, and it is every individual's right to enjoy one's tranquility and serenity without being bothered by the secular world. However, I hold a different view that we, the human, as integrity, are obliged to care about each other, and hence it is of significant importance to know about events happening around the world.

Keeping your mind in sync with the worldwide news promises you a broadened horizon. Prospectives and methodologies vary from culture to culture. An American undoubtedly hold a different view from a Chinese when it comes to the greenhouse effects, and the difference in concepts leads to different political events. For instance, China imposes a strict tax on the chemical industry that never existed in the United States. Therefore, if you get a chance to know about worldwide events, you have opportunities to learn the ropes of both American and Chinese culture and broaden your horizon.

Even though a man is indifferent to broaden his horizon, it is still a necessity for him to concern the global affairs since the affairs will affect other's daily life. As a well-educated person who grows in a relatively developed area, you should know what others' concerns and make your effort to deal with them. Maybe a peace treaty between two countries which has been suffered from bloody war for 10 years has nothing to do with the hamburger of your breakfast. But it does influence the fates of millions of citizens of these countries. If you know that news, you get a chance to interact with your representatives, and therefore your deed might change the world dramatically.

To sum up, it is not a bonus but something fundamental for us to get know the events happening around the world even they have nothing to do with our daily life. Since it will give us chances to broaden our horizon, and it is our responsibility to take care of other human members.