Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Even though there are numerous advantages in learning facts, I believe that it is comprehending the ideas that would make students strong enough to be successful in their future analytical careers. My reasons for supporting the priority of focusing on the concepts are as follows.

First of all, particularly in the modern world where there is an abundance of information readily available through the internet and online libraries, knowing some facts doesn't seem pretty beneficial. Anyone with any academic degree could find the data which is required through simple searches. Therefore, students must be capable of cultivating creative ideas in order to be able to develop and promote innovative concepts, and as a result, propose novel approaches in different scientific fields. In other words, merely being expert at memorizing the available facts is not considered as a satisfying characteristic for a student, whereas understanding existing ideas and developing new ones are skills required by professional students.

Furthermore, information can be forgotten; for example, I can't recall most of the knowledge I acquire through my studies in high school in various areas although I always had the highest grades in each course. Conversely, no only haven't I forgotten the techniques and methods that I learned to focus and analyze a scientific problem, but also I keep becoming more expert as the time goes by, and I'm exposed to more complicated concepts. One thing that students must master in an academic environment is that they shouldn't be afraid of facing a challenging problem. They should learn how to deal with such complex concepts and attempt to solve them step by step.

With all being said, when the students leave the school or university, what remain with them in their future life are the skills and abilities that they gain. There is no doubt that conceiving ideas and concepts are one of the most prominent expertise that is expected from a high caliber student to have. Therefore, students shouldn't just concentrate on obtaining various facts in a general field or specific discipline because this is not what the schools and colleges aim at.