Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends

There are some people who believe that making new friends is more important than keeping your old friends. On the other hand, there are some other people who take the opposite view and state that It's better to keep your old friends than to make new friends. But I personally agree with this statement that making new friends and become familier with new individuals is more beneficial than holding your old friends. In other words, from my point of view, making new friends has more advantages than just keeping your old friends because of three main reasons. In what follows, I will discuss my reasons.

First of all, one should take into account this significant fact that if we make new friends we can learn more experiences and more skills. every person has particular skills and experiences which is unique to his or her, so when we become friends with new individuals, we can learn new things and take advantage of their specific experiences and skills. For instance, I remember when I went to university, the methods of study had changed slightly in relation to highschool. Besides, since I went to university far from my hometown I had to live in dormitory where at first I encountered many difficulties which I should deal with. I tried to make friends who able to instruct me so that I can handles my problems in that circumstances. Thus, I met with new fellows who had been in the same situation more than me, so they had more experiences. They taught me how to study in order to get good marks in university.furthermore, they guided me to cope with problems which I face with in dormitory.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting my opinion is that by making new friends, we can expand the circle of our friends and have more exhilaration and more pleasure. If a person has so many friends, he or she will have lots of fun. As a matter of fact, most of people prefer to allocate part of their time for being with their friends inorder to have hobbies and all other activities that they enjoy. Thus, by having more friends we can have more fun. According to statistics released by psychologists association, people who have more than five close friend are more cheery and light-hearted.

The last but not the least point is that we can learn how to make new friends and how to deal with different attitudes and ideas. Each person has his or her own unique opinion, so if we want to become friend with someone, we should be receptive to new ideas. The question that comes to mind at this moment is that what happens if we are not able to make new friends or adjust to new ideas? To answer this question just suppose you have to go to a new place where you don’t have any friends there. Therefore, if you can not take new friends you will gradually become solitary and depressed. Consequently you require to have the ability to find new friends.

To wrap it up, all aformentioned reasons and examples lead us to the conclusion that, although keeping your old friends may have some positive aspects, it's more advantageous to take new friends because of learning more experiences, having more fun and learning to find new friends.