Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People learn thing better from those at their own level, such as fellow students or co-workers, than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although the traditional and common type of education often involves students and teachers, I believe that learners can have better learning performance whey they learn with people at their own level, such as their peers and colleagues. They may see their own learning blind spots through others and they won't be embarrassed to asked questions to clarify their problems.

Watching people learn may also be one of the ways to examine our own learning effects, because people at the same level could have similar problems. While observing others, we are able to notice our own learning issues and correct it probably through imitating how others deal with the same difficulties. For example, Asian students often find it hard in learning English writing and speaking and I am no exception. Thus, I will turn to other Asian students for help and take their advice to adjust my learning method according to their experience. Therefore, learning with people with similar background can help students to understand their learning obstacles better and solve it more efficiently.

In addition, we won't feel awkward to ask our fellows questions, and we can express our concerns more details because we know they can understand as well. Take me as an example. I am a little intimidated by the thought of asking teachers questions, which is a really common problem of Asian students because we always feel a gap between students and teachers. However, I feel more free and comfortable to tell my friends my learning problems and often brainstorm with them to find out some solutions. Hence, we can learn better with people sharing the similar experience, since we can avoid the embarrassment of asking teachers questions by consulting our fellow students.

In conclusion, I agree that we can learn better with people at our level. Although teachers and supervisors are equally important in the learning process, yet I am convinced that, with the companion of our peers or co-workers, better learning results can be obtained.