“Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.”

I must say it depends. As someone who has put a lot of his time in playing computer games i can't say people shouldn't be allowed to play them but nonetheless I understand how it can be bad for children if not controlled properly. I will elaborate on the benefits of video games first and then go on to point out some of the potential problems it can cause for children.

Most of the video games consist of mental challenges and are stimulating for the brain. And as a lot of studies have shown brain stimulation plays an important role in brain development especially in children. So I think video games can be a very good source of stimulation for children, presenting them with different kinds of mental challenges. Also there has been some research done on the effect of playing video games on children math solving and problem solving skills. The studies show increased problem solving skills in children who play video games daily for at least an hour when compared to children who don't play at all.

Although we can't dismiss the potential problems that video games can cause if left uncontrolled. Video games (because of them being highly stimulating) unusually have an addictive nature. A lot of children, especially those who have problems maintaining healthy relations with their peers may rely on video games for their sense of worth and self-confidence. Also video games are usually sedentary activities that don't require any physical movements which can contribute in the growth of obesity in young children. But the solution is not allowing children to play video games altogether. We should try to find new ways to control and direct children interactions with video games to make a safe and stimulating environment that can help them grow.

Based on the points discussed I believe we should not ban children from video games completely but they should be controlled regarding what games they are allowed to play and how much time.