Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are influenced more by their teachers than they are by their classmates.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As human beings, we are social animals. That's being said, our behaviors are susceptible to the people that surround us. During our youth, we spent most of our time in school. The people we interact with the most are teachers and our classmates instead of our family members. These people will affect and shape our personalities and the way we perform social activities. Comparing between teachers and classmates, it is my contention that classmates give more influences to the students to the teachers. Let me elaborate.

First of all, the students only interact with their teachers in a lecture. The time for a teacher to influence a student is normally no more than three hours a day. On the other hand, students not only stay with their classmates in the break time and after school but also they hang out together on the holidays. Even in class, students are able to interact with their classmates. We can easily find out that the time students spend with their classmates is far more longer than their teachers.

Secondly, students only met their teacher in a specific course. A student meets many different teachers a day, therefore the effectiveness of influence of the teacher is not that significant. At the other end of the spectrum, students form their social group among their classmates, and they would tempt to stay with the same group of people. Therefore, classmates definitely give more influences to the student.

Finally, people tempt to resist or escape from authorities. From the perspective of students, the teacher is a figure of authority. The teachers are not as close as their classmates, who are in the same level of the social hierarchy. Besides, the parents, being another figure of authority, usually ask their kids to obey their teachers. This unseen pressure may make the students keep a distance from the teacher and this is another reason that reduces the influences of the teachers.