Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are the most honourable person in our society and they are the person who develops the cultural value in a society. In my opinion, I think teachers are now less appreciated by society. There are several reasons with my point of view which are described below.

To begin with, nowadays teachers are less respected by society. In the past time when most of the people in society were illiterate and they depend on the teachers for making any decision. Because they are the only person the illiterate people can trust. For example, in the past when the manor of a state asking the illiterate farmer to signature a document. The farmer did not trust the manor at all and they discuss with the teachers who are the only loyal person of that state. After discussing the farmer make a decision to about those papers. Thus, teachers at that time are more respected and trusted by the people.

Second, the salary of the teacher is very low. In the past, the salary was average with social standards. But, the present days the wage of the teachers are not much increasing. For example, in our country, Bangladesh salary of the primary teachers is so low that recently for increasing the wages they summon a stick. After, one month striking the government agree with the proposal of the teacher. I think this phenomenon is shocking because they are not properly appreciated by their potentiality.

Third, sometimes teachers also assault by the student which is really terrible for our society and if this occurrence happens more and more in the future society will lose the guardian. For instance, in my childhood, I saw that in a group when conflict occurs between the student they solve that problem. Moreover, they make a decision within the group and every student accepts that solution. But, nowadays if the students are harassing the teacher in the public place because of they gave less grade in the exam. This kind of situation frequently happens in the college and the university.

To conclude, teachers are the guardians of society and they are like the shadow of society. If we can not appreciate their effort the society will lose the most loyal person.