Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television for young children should be only means of entertainment. Parental controls are already in place for television. I choose to agree with the claim that Television advertising for young children should be banned. I feel this way for two mains reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, I feel the kids aged two to five usually watch television only for cartoons or animated movies. Nowadays there are options such as child lock and parental controls in the television. So most of the parents can avoid their children from watching certain age restricted channels and only allow content specific to kids. Example from my own house would be a compelling one. My Uncle and Aunt had applied parental controls on our television set, to ensure their kids does not come across unwanted content and their options limited to cartoons and educational content only. Moreover I feel the kids hardly are interest in other content except for games and cartoons.

Secondly, coming to advertisement, I think kids between two to five years would hardly interested in watching commercials or promotional content shown on television. What’s more important, the kids at such a young age would not be able to understand the advertisement. As even for their basic needs and choices they are dependent on their parents and can’t employ their own opinion.

In conclusion, I feel the commercials and promotional content targeted for kids should be banned. This is because children are more interested in watching cartoons and animation graphics and additionally children of that age would not be able to understand the advertisements.