Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The job has a greater effect on one’s overall happiness than the social life does.

We as Human beings are always in pursuit of happiness during our own lives which may come from different sources. In my point of view our social status contributes more than the career to our overall happiness in life because of the fact that we are social creatures and it helps us reach our very destination in life.

To begin with, mankind is evolved into being a social creature, therefore, it needs to be socially active to fulfill destiny. To put it in other words, the human being needs to interact with each other to meet the desire to be helpful on a larger scale. Take the ever-increasing volunteering initiatives for example; nothing beats the joy coming from being in service to higher values of the society. It is because of the fact that we consider ourselves a part of a bigger group that is sometimes the family and sometimes a community. As long as we are helpful for our mates, it is all about the pleasure in our lives.

I also believe that it is the social life that defines our place in the community. For instance, a police officer may be happier than a politician because, in the eyes of the public, the policeman serves the morals of the society, while a person involved in politics is normally serving their party participating in politics-related conflicts. So the efforts the task force makes in a city go well appreciated while a politician’s struggles translate as meaningless and maybe even disastrous attitude toward the society. So, if we are to evaluate the level of happiness in life, we should prioritize the social status accompanied by a specific job over the occupation itself.

It is undeniable that the employment status may affect one’s entire life. Simply put, the more a person earns in his or her life, the more comfortable life would be. But is it logical to conclude that this comfort will bring endless pleasure? There are plentiful examples in which people with rewarding jobs and higher salaries ended up committing suicide due to the depression sometimes accompanying this lifestyle. Therefore, our work is not as important factor as our social life when assessing their impact on being happy.

In conclusion, our place in society plays a pivotal role in making our lives joyful. It would be right if someone argues that the occupation has a huge effect on life to make it pleasant as long as the career serves the society and brings people together.