Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without the shadow of doubt, professors have always played a crucial role in the quality of the education in a university since they are the core elements who have interaction with student. but personally I disagree with the statement. In the following, I will delve into most convicing reasons which made me to put forward the idea that increasing professor's income does not nessarly leads to a higher quality education.

First and foremost, universities can invest their budget in the main source of the higher education which is its students. Students are those who define the quality of the education of where they study. Having a good condition to study for students results in higher quality research output because the more comfortable the student the better he can focus. For example, I have a friend whose name is Billy and he lives in Iran while studying in the best university of the country. The university pays him a salary which is enough for him to provide his nessary commodities for a basic life and consequently he is always studying and is one of the brightest researchers I have ever seen since he does not have to worry about working to make money.

Second, a university can use the budget at its disposal to buy better equipment for its labs. Experiments is an essential part of the sudy for students to understand a concept so having more sophisticated and modern equipment lets professors to perform more complex experiments. An instance of this claim is more tangible by one of my personal experience. In my university labs are really up to date and the best equipment are always within the reach of students. In one of my courses I could not understand how does an earthquack affect a buliding foundation but since we had the equipment to simulate such a phenomena we were able to observe the real impact and as result I was able to understand the concept perfectly.

Last but not the least, Is that mostly professors have other source of income too so they might not need the extra money provided by the university and as a result the investment of the university wastes. An example of this situation is my own advisor who owns one of the biggest companies in my country and whenever I talk to him he states that he does not teach for the salary of the university but only because he love teaching.

To wrap t up, all aforementioned reasons and examples convinced me that university can spend thier budget on better subjects than just increasing professors income because providing student with a suitable enviroment to study and buying equipments play their own role in asurring a higher quality education.