Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The quality of education, invariably associated with the strength of a country, has around the concern of parents and social communities. It seems plausible at first glimpse that increasing salaries of university professors would boost the quality of education. Nonetheless, this proposal could not achieve what it promises.

Indeed, university teaching staff take a crucial role in fostering excellent students and producing high quality researches. There is no doubt that they are supposed to get deserve rewards for dedication and efforts. However, spending more money on their salaries is the rough, ineffective and impractical solution, whose weaknesses are obvious.

Firstly, additional money given to teaching staff could have negative impacts on professors’ involvement in education. As is common sense, money serves a double-edged sword, which creates positive effects, at the same time however, has negative impacts as well. The information of which increases wages can be read as encouraging irresponsible attitudes towards teaching because of the secure finance. As a result, instead of improving the educational quality, teachers’ activities in instructing and educating trainees would be lower. The Chinese football team is a case in point. A huge amount of salaries of soccer players in the national team don’t bring them out of deadlock. Their performances on each FIFA World Cup have never failed to disappoint Chinese soccer fans. Thus, money is not the key to working out the issue of education.

Second, the quality of education is systematic, which needs to consider all aspects of education. Teaching staff are only one of the factors that affect the quality of education. It's synergies of environment of studying, the quality of management and corresponding teaching resource that makes a difference. Therefore, mainly focusing on professors is irrational and inadvisable. Schools, who engage to improve their educational quality should place emphasis on every aspect of possibilities mentioned above rather than only the single one.

In addition, the more money the professors get, the less support the scientific equipment and facilities will have. In view of the limited quantities of educational finance, the growth of the cost on teaching staff would lead to unbalanced teaching resource, further decreasing the overall education. Clearly, only in a good balance of educational resource can have the better education.

Based on the arguments mentioned above, I firmly draw the conclusion that increasing professors’ wages is not a feasible solution to enhance the educational quality.