Do you agree or disagree with the following statement To improve the quality of education universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The quality of education, invariably associated with the strength of a country, is always one of the biggest concern of parents and social communities. It seems plausible at first glimpse that increasing salaries of university professors would boost the quality of education. Nonetheless, this proposal could not achieve what it promises.

Indeed, university teaching staff take a crucial role in fostering excellent students and producing high quality researches. Given their dedication and efforts, they are supposed to get deserve rewards. However, spending more money on their salaries is the rough, ineffective and impractical solution, whose weaknesses are obvious.

Firstly, additional money given to teaching staff could have negative impacts on the education. As is common sense, money serves a double-edged sword, which creates positive effects, at same time however, has negative impacts as well. The information of this action can be read as encouraging irresponsible attitudes towards teaching. As a result, instead of improving the educational quality, teachers’ activities in instructing and educating trainees would decline. The Chinese football team is a good case in point. A huge amount of salaries of soccer players in the national team don’t bring them out of deadlock. Their performances on each FIFA World Cup have never failed to disappoint Chinese soccer fans. Thus, money is not the key to work out the issue of education.

In addition, the quality of education is systematic, which needs to consider all aspects of education. Teaching staff are only one of the factors that affect the quality of education. It's synergies of environment of studying, the quality of management and corresponding teaching resource that makes a difference. Therefore, mainly focusing on professors is irrational and inadvisable. Schools, who engage to improve their educational quality should place emphasis on every aspect of possibilities mentioned above rather than only the single one. Therefore, extra money investing in teaching staff presumably is a waster to some extent for which hardly achieves the demanded task.

Based on the arguments mentioned above, I firmly draw the conclusion that increasing professors’ wages is not a feasible solution to enhance the educational quality.