TPO 10- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the rapid development of technology, computer games, as a novel technological product, are great appeal to a vast majority of people. Therefore, people, especially the parents who set high standards for their kids, concern that computer games will have negative impacts on their children's academic performance and mental development. They claim that for the sake of their children's mental and physical health children are not allowed to play computer games. It seems plausible at first glimpse. As far as I am concerned, this standpoint is a piece of overemphasis.

Indeed, the news that being addicted to computer games will spoil people's normal life effortlessly never fail to arouse public awareness. However, it's irrational and unfair to blame all adverse effects on computer games, since it's easy method to get rid of their own responsibilities by ignoring positive side of computer games and exaggerating its negative side.

First of all, playing computer games with no doubt plays an important role in alleviating the mounting pressure. To improve their academic performance, students have to dedicate colossal amounts of time to endless assignments. Facing unexpected study pressure, they strive to find a way to get themselves relaxed. There would be no better activity that can satisfy this kind of demand than computer games. Once you immerse yourself in the virtual world, you totally leave the annoyance and unpleasant feelings alone. It's undeniable that shifting gear occasionally contributes to better performance to some extent.

In addition, children can develop friendship by playing computer games. Never forget that computer games are also effective tools to strengthen friendship. As is common sense, friends always share the same interests. It's not uncommon that they gather frequently to exchange experience of computer games and to share the proficient strategies. Maybe, playing computer games in the college dorm with their roommates is common unforgettable memories for most people. Thus, the criticism of playing computer games is not enough convincing.

To sum up, playing computer games is not the bundle of negatives. It not only eases people's pressure but also helps to cement the friendship. Therefore, I disagree with the idea that children are not allowed to play them.