Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The way of communication while working on a project is highly important. In my opinion, people could produce better outcomes if they were able to meet in-person. I feel this way for many reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, face-to-face interaction guarantees a chance for immediate feedback from people, which is not possible when contacting each other via e-mail. As a result, less mistakes would be made. For example, misspellings and typos are relatively common in e-mails which often lead to misunderstandings between partners. On the other hand, getting together to discuss the assigned task offers the opportunity to fully explain ideas and avoid any misinterpretations. Another idea, which could be included under the same umbrella, is the lack of emotions when using emails. To expand more on that, In the case of emails as a method of reaching out to other colleagues, if one side suggested the project should go in a certain direction and other people were not completely comfortable with this, they would not be able to express their likes or dislikes about the issue through writing. However, a meeting would rather encourage people to at least give hints about their feelings.

Second, real life communication helps the quick evolution of ideas. One person could be thinking about something. which she or he has some knowledge about but lacks other pieces of information. This would result in the idea to be abandoned by the individuals when they find out that clues are missing to reach a fully developed idea or decision for the project. Nevertheless, people in a conversation could mention some details and other members in the group instantly start to build on these threads to land on the best ideas possible for the task. A group of people together will efficiently see the whole picture as missing pieces will begin to appear from every mind, assuming each of them has a different set of skills and knowledge which will see the issue under consideration from a distinct point of view. Unfortunately, that's not the case with e-mails as there is no real-time dialogue to help polish hypotheses or put them under immediate investigations by other participants.

In conclusion, feedback plays a vital role in finishing assignments, which, in turn, makes meeting in-person is far superior to correspondence through emails when working on a task. This is mainly because a gathering of emplyees or students will allow less errors to happen, provide a way of communicating emotions and increase efficiency.