Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more

effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers have different attitudes in the ways accomplishing the projects by their students in the class. Some want their students to work on the project together, others may prefer to assign the different projects for each of students. In my view, students learn more effectively when they work together to do their project. Here are my reasons which will be elaborated in the following paragraphs.

The first thing to mention is that when a student does not know much about the especial issue within the project, he can simply ask other students. Sometimes, students waste a lot of time to find an appropriate way to approaching the project since they have not understood the project well.With working together, students can ask each other points they have problems. For example, I had difficulty in changing the units of weights in Physics course when I was in the university. In the one project that I worked with my friends, one of my friends introduced me a very simple way to convert the mass units. I learned that formula and I have no longer problem on this issue.

Secondly, working on the project together can introduce different attitudes and views to the students.When the group of students tries to solve the problem in the project, they may expose to many viewpoints that finally can lead to finding the best solution. For example, students who work on the project about the culture of different places in the Iran, may share their valuable observation and experience that could be quite interesting for others.Furthermore, the students may challenge their viewpoints and thinking which can lead to cultivating the critical thinking ability in the students.

Finally, when students work together they will learn how to be more disciplined in performing their responsibilities. In each group, some of the students are very hardworking and try their best to do the project in the best way. Other students may also learn from those students to be more disciplined and hardworking in doing the projects. In addition, working in group help students to be more motivated to finish their assigned task in the due time. When the students work alone, they may waste many of times but in the group, they all know that they should do their task at the specified time to not be blamed by other members.

To put in a nutshell, taking account that sometimes students need someone to clarify their question about the project, share their viewpoints and ways thinking and learn from each other how to be more disciplined and hardworking, working on the projects within the group is much better for their effective learnings.