Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the industrial revolution, the focus of production shifted to production quantity and efficiency of the workers, which gave rise to the concept of work specialization. The statement here posits that workers with different types of work is more satisfied than the worker with similar task all day long. I disagree with this statement and in the following paragraphs, I am going to explain my reasonings.

To begin with, the workers who do the similar job all day long become an specialist in that job. In current age of competition, this type of specialization can help a person to be of higher value. In current time, the performance of the worker is measured by the amount of work that is done by the worker. Being a specialist in a certain job can help a worker in this regard. Because getting specialized helps a worker to complete the task in less time. This in turn increases the efficiency of the worker and the improves the productivity of the company. And, it is a common trend in the companies today to reward the workers for their performance. So, this way a skilled worker can get rewarded for their efficiency. For instance, one of my friend, who works in a garments factory, told me that their company provides performance bonus, a monetary incentive for the worker who performs well beyond a set limit. In modern garments, generally one task is done by an individual. So, specialization can help a worker to earn extra money in that garments factory. On the other hand, having to do many different types of work and not getting much work done in the process might hurt the chance of a worker to get the performance bonus. So, this extra money can satisfy the workers.

Moreover, doing the similar task can save a worker from the burden of learning new skills. It is known that, there is a learning curve associated with learning new skills and each individual has their own forte and aptitude for particular type of tasks. During this learning period, the performance of the worker may decline. In addition, It is possible that a different type of task might not suit the worker. This can hurt the confidence of the worker resulting in reduction of performance which can reflect badly to the upper management. So, many workers don't want to come out of their comfort zone of their specialized area and learn new thing. My cousin is a compelling example of this scenario. He is a welder and very good at that. When his employer closed the company he was working for, instead of learning new skills he moved out of the state to find a job.

In conclusion, doing different types of work mau help workers of to get rid off monotony but the demand of the current era is different. With the advantage of being a specialist in a certain task and not having to learn new skills, workers tends to be satisfied more about doing the similar tasks all day long. Thus, I strongly stand by my opinion.