Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Young minds are full of ideas and often devoid of the financial and social reality. They have the courage to become iconoclastic and dream about doing something different. The matter of contention here is that whether they should be more encouraged to follow their dreams or be forced to pick a goal for them by the society for which the society consider him worthy. Followings one's dream can realize into more contribution in the society rather than forcing something apparently worthy goals for that person.

If we look at the some economically underdeveloped countries like India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, vocational studies are of much priority there. The main is reason is that getting a job after graduating is the primary goal there because of the financial situation. Most of the parents want to see their offsprings succeed and become financially independent and stable. And in light of the economic condition in those coutries the vocational skills become more relevant. But not every one wants to be a doctor or engineer. One might have the dream of learning and performing arts. Forcing him into learning a trade in which one is not intersted might result adversely. If we consider the famous names in sport from this nations, if they had been forced to pursue different career in light of their economical situation, they could have been nipped in the bud.

Also, there are so many inspiring stories of people succeeding following their dreams and becoming a valuable additiong to their society. Lets talk about the paraolympics, those physically disabled athletes fighting so many barriers of which physical dissabilities are the least. But they are still pursuing their dreams inspite of the ideal defition of their worthiness which is being physically perfect. The young minds are full of energy and ideas. If they are let to follow their dreams they will be encouraged to give their very best and will contribute in the society more profoundly.

The reason behind the claim was to that most people only have dreams that serve their purpose. This is true that most people are selfish. But when it comes to deciding about a persons life what is the standard to call one's dream to selfish? Every person should have the right to decide his fate. And again in the claim it was stated that more emphasis should be given on picking worthy goals. How can we set worthy goals for a person? There is established criteria for that. Many policies have been developed to check aptitude for particular jobs. Although they might be useful to some extent but they are not the golden standard. As Einstein famously said, that one cant judge a snail by its ability to climb a tree. thus we shouyld not also forcegoals on other people.

As the Indian prime minister Abul Kalam famously said, dream is that what does not let a person sleep. By following a dream, one can actually work in their field of interest and make valuable contribution rather than being forced with something. All men is for himself. But if we let young minds to follow their dreams even this apparent selfish dreams can enrich the germane field and add contribution in the society.