"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions- Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to-be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria: which had a similar sanctuary: has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1948. In order to preserve the regions biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built "

A letter to the editor of West Lansburg expressed the concren about maintaing the sactuary staus of the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg which is a habitat of the tufted groundhog. In the letter, the write expressed that the council should not allow developers to built new road along the coastal lines. To support his point writer presented the case Eastern Carpenteria and their declining population of sea otter. But before making any final decision let us check the merit behind the argument presented here as several important assumptions were made here.

Firstly, The case presented here is about the neighboring Eastern Carpenteria but the ecological state of the place is not stated here. It is possible that the, Eastern Carpenteria, which has a similar sanctuary had a biodiversity fairly different from West Lansburg. Thus it is possible that the withdrawal of the sanctuary status, actually led to such activities that adversely affected the sea otter population. That might not the same for West Lansburg. Here the bio diversity as well as the food chain and supply might be different for the tufted groundhog and allowing a road to be built might not affect it at all. More study needs to done before making such decision from this comparision.

Secondly, here the comparison is between a ground based animal tufted,groundhog and a water based animal, sea otter. This comparison is flawed at its very core. It is also possible that the a source of food for the otter might have been affected in the sea. Due to that paucity of food, their population suffered and declined. The correlation was not estalibshed cogently by the writer. For, the case of the grounghog, building a road along the coastline edge might not have that same level of adverse effect on them. The ecosystem needs to be studied further for that region to make this call.

Although, preserving a natural biodiversity is essential to maintain a balanced environment suitable for healthy living but the developement cost should be considered. It might be possible to allow the road to be build without disturbing the habitat and food source of the groundhogs. Also, the cost of the harming the sanctuary partially in comparison to the benefit gained from building the road is something that should be considered. Also the council can suggest the developer an alternative route to build the road without harming the habitat of the groundhogs.

Building a road might better the conditions of communication and transportation, but doing that at the cost of harm to the biodiversity is a serious concern. The developers should get the permission only if it can actually maintain the biodiversity or maintaining them at a defined level healthy level. But before making this decisons more scientific evidence is needed that such development will not harm the habitat and if allowed to build the road the benefit will highly compensate the harm done.