Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people should choose a job that is similar to what parents did.

Some claim that young men or women should choose a job that is similar to what their parents did. This argument seems reasonable. However, I disagree with this statement for the following reasons.

Admittedly, it is true that haveing a job similar to a parent's contributes to family harmony. This is because the elder can share the occupational experiences and resources with the young and thereby gradually the whole family will think alike. However, young people will suffer from pressure from their family since parents may interfere with their children's work. Specifically, if parents know everything about job that the young hold, they will frequently comment on the performance of the yound and suggest to them what to do.

On the other hand, young men who work at occupations different from their parents show higher devotion in education, which is good for the advancement of a culture and technology as well as for the economic development of the whole country. To be specific, in order to compete with those who rely on family connection to be employed, they must learn more knowledge and skills. For instance, in the bank where my mother works, 75% of the employees who obtained the job independently have master's degrees, compared with 25% who were recommended by parents. Yet the highly-educated young staff tend to be promoted more quickly according to their well job performance, though they almost did not benefit from assistance from the parents.

In addition, those who work at a job different from their parents are more independent and competitive. This is because lacking the so-called help from parents, young people are able to be fully engaged in what they really like doing without the interference of parents. According to a survery, among TOP 500 richest Chinese people, over two thirds work in the fields unrelated to that of their parents. So the more independent from the help of parents, the more competitive young people could be in their future vocation.

Needless to say, although work choice similar to that o parents seems appealing, I strongly agree with the statement that taking on a different and independent career benefits both the young people and the society.