Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyday there are countless decisions made, some trivial while some significant. When it comes who can affect the important decisions which impose profound influence on our society in the future, some people claim that it is definitely not the young people. However, as far as I am concerned, young people enjoy the power to make world-changing decisions. In the following paragraphs I will present my reasons for holding this opinion.

To begin with, young people can influence essential policy made by the government. They can take an active part in advocating their opinions and voting against the unjust and non-scientific policies. By doing so, they can influence the government's policy making and thus affect the future of our society. For example, homosexual marriage has been banned in many countries for a long time and a large amount of people consider homosexuality as a disease or even sin. China was one of such countries. Nevertheless, with the enduring efforts of people, among which mostly are young, more and more Chinese are accepting same sex love as individual preference an as normal as the affection between man and woman. And I am confident that the policy will change in favor of gay marriage since the view of the citizen is changing. As we can see, what young people today do can indeed affect decisions regarding important aspects of the society in the future.

Moreover, the consumption behavior of young people are shaping a new economic picture of our society. Since young people tend to consume more and have the power to influence the consumption habits of their parents, the elder generation, their impact on the development of commercial forms are significant. Providers will have adapt to the likes and dislikes of trends among young people to prospect. For instance, young people in China enjoy the convenience of paying via cell phone and are accustomed to this channel. What's more, they gradually persuade and teach their parents to do the same. As a result, there is almost no shop, restaurant, cinema or any other consuming places which cannot receive payment through cell phone. This totally changed the economic phenomenon in China, where the majority of shops only accept cash a decade ago.

As discussed above, concerning the topic of young people's power of influencing important decisions in the society, I can safely come to the conclusion that they are able to do so, at least in terms of policy and economy.