Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of children's education has always been a topic of focus in our society, especially in the recent years as the living standard improves, which renders less attention in basic needs. In this token, it is widely accepted that parents participate more actively in the course of fostering offsprings nowadays than they did before. This statement is in accordance with my own perspective and I will elaborate my reasons for endorsing it.

First and foremost, it is of no doubt that parents spend more money in cultivating youngsters. Ever since the child is born, parents in this modern society is questing for as various opportunities as possible to provide a promising learning environment for him or her. More often than not we find children in kindergarten attending countless after-school curriculum, to name a few, piano class, calligraphy class, swimming class and singing class. Not to mention the number of courses elder children in primary or high school take. All these lessons cost parents a fortune every year, and years in the future which might continue even their children are enrolled in universities since they are likely to pursue further education as graduate or PHD students. While in the past, since most families can barely make the basic needs for food and clothing meet, there is no spare money for such luxury expense, children's education.

Another aspect parents devote themselves in their kids' education is that they spend an increasing amount of time with children compared to the situation decades ago. As illustrated in the last paragraph, children in the current age take much more extra classes than their counterparts had the to before. This virtually substantiates that parents currently dedicate more time to adolescents cultivation than parents in the past did. To be more specific, they need to escort children forth and back towards the spot for extra courses; some of the worried parents are probably to stay in the class with their children in case they need help or feel lonely. Besides, parents are also taking an active part in the school's tasks to take children to explore the world outside for the sake of their all-round development.

To put it in a nutshell, due to the advancement of our society, parents today are able to devote more with respect to money and time than parents in the past, which explains why I support this statement.