Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People are not unfamiliar with the situation that the speaker says something wrong in front of the audience. At that time, the best action for a listener to take is to interrupt on the spot, or to say nothing, as argued by some. As far as I am concerned, the former might cause unwanted troubles and the latter one is harmful. Given the chance, I will wait for the class or meeting to finish and then tell the teacher or meeting leader the mistakes. Reasons for choosing this solution will be elaborated in the following paragraphs.

First of all, waiting till the end is best for the consideration of the coherence and completeness of the speech. As is widely acknowledged, a lecture is carefully prepared, with the purpose of presenting the audience a clear and complete illustration of some concepts or phenomena. Were it interrupted in the middle, for whatever reasons, the smooth flow would definitely be sacrificed. Even worse, the correction might lead to unplanned clarification from the speaker, which takes up a large portion of time that is arranged for other lecture content. In this case, it is highly probable that the speech cannot cover as much information as arranged. While if the listener patiently wait for the end, such mess could be prevented.

Another reason to wait and then tell is that it reduces the possibility of embarrassments and conflicts to the largest extent. Correcting teachers or meeting leaders right away in front of the public could irritate them, especially when they are not good at dealing with others’ correction. To preserve their authority, they might ignore or even criticize the listener. Speaking from my own experience, I once told my professor that what she said was the opposite of what was written on the textbook in her Chinese Linguistic class. She denied and asked me to read more carefully in a sarcastic tone. After that class, I brought the book with me to her office to correct her and she finally admitted the mistake, privately. Therefore, it is wiser to not confront the speaker directly before a crowd.

These two troubles mentioned above could be avoided by simply saying nothing, as some people may claim. However, from my perspective, pretending that nothing is wrong is the most detrimental behavior because it results in a series of negative chain reactions. To begin with, the speaker will not be informed of his errors and continue the wrong. Besides, the audience who were in the present may spread the mistakes they heard. In the long run, it is hurtful to not only listeners but also the speaker.

To conclude, correcting the speaker is a subtle work that requires us to thoroughly weigh the pros and cons before deciding how to do it. As stated above, the best thing to do in such situation is to wait for the speech to end and then tell, for the sake of all parties.