Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students take part in different sorts of events at universities, to name a few, sports, social activities, and classes. These activities are of equal importance and thus should be granted with same amount of financial funds, as some people argue. As far as I am concerned, this statement cannot afford further analysis and my reasons for holding so will be explained in the following paragraphs.

Admittedly, attending sports and social activities has salutary effects on college students. There is no denying that playing sports will improve students’ physical and mental health, and that socializing will facilitate their interpersonal and communication skills. And it is justifiable for colleges to allocate part of their budgets to build adequate sport facilities and support student activities. Nevertheless, sports and social activities are not as essential as classes and libraries in the context of university.

First, teaching in classrooms and studying in libraries play an irreplaceable role in realizing the fundamental educational object. The paramount goal of higher education is to cultivate qualified citizens with appropriate political, legal, economic, and cultural training, as well as competent professional knowledge. Take me, a student majoring in second language acquisition, as an example. I learned theories of linguistics, rules of Chinese language, and teaching methods in compulsory courses. Besides, I read a range of books concerning Chinese culture and history out of personal interests. Without the strong support from my university to teaching and learning resources, I could not have enjoyed the excellent education quality.

Another reason for emphasizing on classes and libraries is that they concern the college’s reputation and sustainable development. There never lack ranks of universities nationwide or worldwide based on the teaching quality and scientific accomplishment. The public basically consults on these ranks to form their evaluation on higher education institutions. Besides, incoming students tend to favor top-ranked universities. And student quality in turn has an impact on colleges’ long-term advancement. In this case, in order to attract smart minds and earn prestige, universities cannot prioritize teaching and researching too much. Therefore, a large portion of financial support should be inclined to classes and libraries.

To sum up, despite that sports and social activities benefit students in some aspects, their importance is not to be compared with that of the classes and libraries. Consequently, it is more reasonable to allocate financial support from universities in favor of the latter.