Do you agree or disagree: the high school students are required to study many different subjects at the same time or they should only study three or four subjects at a time?

Nowadays, the wide array of high school courses available to students is both a point of pride and a matter of concern. Some educators argue that schools should limit the choices down to just three or four subjects. I do not think it is a smart move.

First off, taking a number of tough core courses can be a huge boost to college application. Let’s say if an ambitious student wants to get into one of the most competitive schools, he will need to take the toughest core courses available at school to exhibit his academic capacities. For example, a senior student applying for a business school would stand a better chance if he enrolls in multiple AP courses, like Calculus, Statistics, Micro/Macro Economics and so forth. Of course, I am saying that students should bite off more than they can chew. If they take more than they can handle and spread themselves too thin, that could backfire and hurt their chances. But for most competent students, they would regret it if they miss out on the chance to take on challenges.

Second, the variety of courses provided helps students consider their options better and make the best choice for long-term goals. Most students have no clue when asked about what field to pursue in the future. How come they never think it over and chew on that? I think the curriculum arrangement has a big part to play. Unlike other schools with only a couple of courses available, my school offer various courses ranging from History and Science and Arts and music. Every kid is given the chance to test out options and encouraged to learn a thing or two about everything before they settle on a particular interest. Thanks to my school, I had the opportunity to discover coding and programing was my strong suit and set my mind on Computer Science as my college major. So, the curricular diversity can be a good way to bring out the best in every student.

Besides students, the school is also a beneficiary. Why? If a school can provide students with different subjects and encourage them to pursue different choices, it will help produce numerous successful graduates that show great promise in their respective fields. This will engender a good reputation to school, which helps attract more prospective top students in turn. Plus, successful alumni would contribute to their alma mater by donating, sponsoring and fund-raising. That is how a school gets to build more libraries and laboratories, and to hire more prestigious professors.

To sum up, it is recommendable to offer a wide range of subjects for the benefits both to students and the school itself.