Do you agree or disagree with : It is better for students at university or in college to choose difficult classes even if they cannot get top grades.

University education is the kind of the experience that could have a formative impact on students. It has been argued that college students should opt for some difficult courses despite the poor grades they could get. I think it is not such a good idea.

To begin with, grades could have a huge impact on students’ future career and top grades definitely would be a plus, so there is no sense in choosing a difficult subject. Needless to say, having a poor grade in one’s resume could be a real blow for anyone. It is especially true for college graduates when they are hunting for jobs, because they will lose competitiveness in labor markets. Let’s us get down to the fundamental that a transcript with good grades is a prerequisite for most companies when they need a talented employee. A recent online survey has shown that more than 80 precent of managers or HR would like to give priority to those job hunters who have a relatively competitive edge on grades they received during four years study in university. Therefore, we cannot deny the fact that grades do play a vital role in the process of job application for college graduates. If students lose such a competitive edge, they would have no hope of having what it takes to succeed in their future career.

Moreover, difficult classes will lead students to lose faith in their capacity of learning. More often than not, such courses will bring students a big challenge that they can not handle even after they have already tried their best. In that case, students will probably feel depressed about their learning ability, thinking that they are not smart enough to continue this kind of study, When they do so, they will be stuck in such endless negative which has a adverse influence in their mentality development. For a young kid majoring in law, he chooses the advanced mathematic as a subject. But no matter what he does, the grades turn out his effort does not pay off, will he still have confidence to cope with it again? And think about he almost spends hours tackling those tricky mathematical problems, facing numerous formulas and some opaque terms. As a result, he will soon end up with stressed out yet still having no clue about it, which undoubtedly has a negative impact on his own self-esteem.

Sure, some may argue that top grades represent nothing but just some numbers in the transcript. They may take Bill Gates as a model example. However, if you look at this issue more closely, how many of us would have the chance to become the person like Gates without a good grade in our resumes. One person cannot present the majority. In reality, most of us need good grades to pursue our future dream.

To sum up, students should not consider to choose these difficult courses, for the benefits of their own self-esteem and the beautiful future career they can have.