Do you agree or disagree? It is more enjoyable to have a job when you only work three days a week for long hours than to have a job when you work five days a week for shorter hours

For most people, they feel quite satisfied with their current jobs which offer them enough salary to pay their costs. However, some of them may want more. They might consider to have more flexiblity in work. Working longer hours each day for three days a week seems like a suitable option for them. On the contrary, having longer working hours is not without its own problems which I would like to discuss in the following two reasons.

First, longer working hours each day for three days a week can lead to a serious problem that there is no balance in your life. Some days you are exhausted from work while the other days you feel tired because you can’t rest well. For example, I used to work as a night shift technician in a chemical plant. I worked at night for three days a week and I had to sleep in the daytime. It was easy to fall asleep at the morning after my workdays. However, most of my colleges and I suffered from sleepiness during our days off because we had barely found a right time to go to bed. Since we didn’t rest well, we didn’t want to go out and have fun like those people who work in offices. Our biological clock were totally messed up and a lot of people resigned quickly. For me, there was no balance in my life while I was working that kind of job.

Second, working an special calendar reduces your opportunities for social activities with friends. The opportunities are based on the common spare time between your friends and you. Since your working time is totally different from that of you friends, it would be hard to find a proper time to go out together. When you want to call someone to have a drink after work, you may find they have already go home because it is too late. For instance, once I was working late in the evening round 11 pm. I was hungry and I called many friends to have dinner with me but they all refused, saying they were full and their family would be worried if they went out too late. So I felt disappointed and I realized that working longer had an negative effect on my social life.

In a nutshell, I would admit that working longer hours for three days a week isn’t a good choice for most of us. It not only harms our life balance but also limits your time for social life. We should all choose a regular time job to maintain a work-life balance in the future.