Do you agree or disagree? It is more enjoyable to have a job when you only work three days a week for long hours than to have a job when you work five days a week for shorter hours

Working is an important part of life for almost each person. It is a key and major activity of each day. Some people think it is more beneficial to have a longer working hours job for three days a week than have a shorter working hours job for five days a week. Others disagree. In my opinion,working a shorter time each day for five days a week provides more advantages for two reasons.

First, working longer hours each day for less days a week makes everything unpleasant during your free time. The time incoherence between you and the other people makes your personal and social activities really difficult. For example, one year ago, as a shift technician in a chemical plant, I was working 12 hours each day for three days a week. On my working day, I left the company at 8:30 pm when all the restaurant near my home were closed and I had to go to a far food-court to eat. Unfortunately, I needed to return home by feet because it was so late that there was not any public transportation at all. Besides, during my days off, it was difficult to hang out with my friends while they were working. This experience thought me that working loner hours for a shorter time each week is too bad for you to enjoy your free time.

Second, having an office-hour job helps you maintain the balance between your work and life. Difficult tasks of one week become easier when they are divided evenly into five days rather than three days. Working five days a week brings you less pressure from work and more energy to personal interests. For instance, one of my friends who works in a computer network company lives a more balanced life than me. She usually finishes her work at 4:30 pm from Monday to Friday. Therefore, she has plenty energy and time to enjoy personal activities after work, such as eating a hot pot, going shopping and even taking online courses. On weekend, she has two days to go hiking and swimming. Her personal interests were well developed because of the balanced time between work and life. In contrast, it would be hard to imagine that someone, who works longer hours a day, to enjoy such a colorful life.

In sum, working longer time each day for three days a week would be a disaster for anyone. He would suffer from the inconvenience of personal activities and the low energy for hobbies. To avoid these bad effects, we must keep ourselves away from this working schedule.