Do you agree or disagree? One can learn a lot about another people from the books and movies that he likes.

There is no doubt that people tend to take a break from their hectic life and unwind by devoting some time to their personal activities. Actually, there are unlimited ways to entertain themselves such as watching favorite movies or reading books with different subjects. Although some people adhere to this belief that people’s interests, tastes and character can be distinguished through what they read or watch, in my vantage point they may read books or watch movies which are distinctive with their opinion since they can enrich their knowledge, and fortify their analytical skills.

The first aspect to point out is that what provokes people to read books or watch movies which are against their opinion is expanding their knowledge. In fact, one of the rigors of modern hectic life is that people need to have wide variety knowledge to have promising future. Consequently, they try to broad their horizon and experience new things through reading books and watching movies in varied fields albeit they oppose with their favorites. Not only can they make rational decisions in catastrophic situations, they feel satisfied with themselves because of their proper information. In my own experience, last year I ran into a huge problem and felt despondent; so I started read a book in psychology field, although I did not willing to read it. Fortunately, understanding the concepts of this book leaves drastic effects on my personality and instills precious ideas so that revolutionizes my life. I have learnt I can benefit from reading books or watching movies even if I do not interest in them; hence, people’s favorite movies do not reflect their personality.

A further more subtle point is that people may read books or watching movies with different genre to strengthen their analytical skills. Undoubtedly, people need to strong analytical mind in order to make rational and immediate decision in catastrophic circumstances. In this way, they try to get familiar with critical situations through reading books or watching movies even they do not like them. To illustrate more, take a case of a person who hates science fiction movies; however, he watches this kind of movie every month to stimulate his creativity; also, he tries to think about causes and effects of what he notices in these movies. It provides an opportunity with him to analyze situations and guess what will happen in the next part of the movie. Moreover, although he may first feel perplexed with strange actions of movies’ characters, he soon perceives its tangible benefits through improving his analytical thinking when he has trouble; therefore we cannot exactly understand people’s personalities from what they read or watch.

On the whole, according to the above-mentioned points and details, it is crystal-clear (obvious) that enriching knowledge as well as bolstering their analytical thinking gives people incentive to read books or watch movies oppose to their viewpoints. It is high time we stopped overlooking the fact that we can recognize a person’s character just by his hobbies or his entertainments since individuals have complex personalities.