Do you agree or disagree that people these days don't want to have children

Yasmin Harp

Here is one of my independent essay

It is undeniable that kids and money are the most crucial elements in humans' lives. However, I believe that people these days lose their desire to have children and even if they do, they will have the minimum number of children maybe one or two. In contrast, in the past people have a lot of children. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To start, women in the past used to stay home and had nothing to fulfill their time with. As a result, when they got married they thought about having children and raising them. However, on these days women start enrolling in college and completing their degrees, after that they try working and earning money. Having children is not one of their top priorities anymore. The comparison between my situation and my grandmother's is a compelling example of this. My grandmother Rasmia got married when she was seventeen and had her first child when she turned eighteen. Those days all her friends in the village had the same experience as her. When she tured thirty she had eight children. When I asked her how did she manage to raise all of them, she explained that was her only mission and she enjoyed it and preoccupied herself with her children. For my I am twenty-nine years old and still trying to figure out how I can complete my studying while I am working in the pharmacy. I have never though about having children because I do not find time to do so.

Moreover, raising a child before is way easier than these days. unlike in the past, In todays' societies, life is expensive and many families cannot afford having children. Back to my grandmother's example. She lived in a poor neighborhood and people used to help each other, so if one of them had food they would share with the whole neighborhood. She did not need to worry about feeding her kids or where they would live. It was very simple task to have land and a house sometimes without paying a dollar you can find land and live their. On the other hand, in modern society this is not the case. For example, me and my husband are working and we bareky can pay the rent and the food. Whenever we think about having a child we calculate our budget to see if we can provide this child with the financial security that he needs, almost immediately, we change our mind because we cannot tolerate that expense.

To sum up, I strongly think that having children today is way less important than before. Not only because women on these days are preoccupaied with tone of things and having a child is not a requirement to fill their time, but also families cannot afford having children.